buddha_smile” The hearing is happening through the ear. The ear is not telling me, I hear. Again it’s translated by thought, I hear. So the eye is not telling me I see and the ear is not telling me I hear, but the thought comes up and translates it. Now ask yourself this: Can the thought, I see, actually see? Look closely and you’ll realise that the thought is not seeing. Can the thought, I hear, actually do the hearing? All the thought is doing is translating. This ego is thought up and has no power to see, to hear or to be aware. The thought, I choose, can’t choose. The thought, I’m aware, is not your awareness.

So this fictitious ego is an idea to which we have been in bondage for all these years. The belief that it is an entity that can choose has self-will, self-awareness,  is having bad luck, etc, is just a thought. In the seeing that it’s a fiction, what’s going to happen then? Isn’t the natural livingness going to carry on the way it’s been carrying on anyway? It’s breathing you, it’s beating your heart, it’s growing your hair and fingernails, digesting your food, replacing cells, causing the thinking, feelings, emotions and everything to happen quite effortlessly.

If all the functioning is not being related to a me, then what’s the problem? Is good or bad a problem unless it’s related to an entity that thinks it should be some other way? It doesn’t mean to say problems won’t come up. They’ll come up, sure, because as in natures the pair of opposites are constantly functioning, but when they are coming up, they are seen for what they are. With un-fixated awareness,they move on. When we’re fixating on something, clinging to something, attaching to something, it keeps it there. There’s a resistance going on and it’s not free to move.

That’s why we say that all our problems come from the belief in a separate entity. See that it was never real and  you realise things have just happened that way.”

 

“Sailor” Bob Adamson simplifies it once again.

http://www.sailorbobadamson.com/

